Crufts Winners

5 1 1 1 1 1 Rating 5.00 (9 Votes)

Lancashire Heeler at Crufts 2004Lancashire Heeler Crufts winners

In 1987 Haelarbobs Gracie Fields became the first Lancashire Heeler to win a first prize at Crufts, from 'Not Separately Classified'. This was followed by the first Lancashire Heeler breed classes in 1988, with Best of Breed being awarded to Acremead Biscuit of Kalo, bred by Gwen Mackintosh and owned by Miss Kathie and Mrs Barbara Kidd. The judge was Mr Frank Jackson.

Lancashire Heeler progress at Crufts

Lancashire Heeler Tushielaw Clyde won six B.O.B. awards

In 1989 BOB at Crufts was won by a Lancashire Heeler dog called Tushielaw Clyde, owned by Sarah Whybrow and bred by Daphne Cargen. This was a great achievement in itself, but Clyde went on to be BOB at Crufts an incredible six times between 1989 and 1995, a record unbeaten to this day, and he amassed many Best of Breeds throughout his long show career. His run of six Crufts wins was briefly interrupted in 1992 by Enid Lord's Delsteps Madonna of Foxthyme (bred by Stephanie Taylor).

Lancashire Heeler, Ch. Foxthyme Material Girl won four B.O.B. awards

In 1996 the reign of Foxthyme Material Girl began, with the first of her four Crufts BOB awards. Bred by Enid and owned by Colin and Denise Russell, Jess won in 1996, 2000, 2001 and again in 2004, at the magnificent age of ten. She became the first British Champion in the Lancashire Heeler breed and was for a long time the Lancashire Heeler bitch breed record holder on nineteen CC's.

Two litter sisters bred by Joan Patrick, Patterjo Candy and Patterjo Gingham, won in 1997 and 1998 respectively. In 1999 another milestone for the breed was achieved when Challenge Certificates were first allocated.

Ann Arch judged Crufts and gave the first Lancashire Heeler Dog CC to Doddsline Kristen, owned and bred by Norman Johnston with the Bitch CC and BOB going to Laura Martin's homebred Lausteph Waltzing Matilda.

2002 saw the BOB award going to Troutop Geraldine, owner bred by Miss Esther and Mrs Elizabeth Gordon, under Enid Lord. In 2003 Ch Leonine Ivy at Ryslip, owned by Jackie Cartledge, was awarded BOB. In 2005 Ch Hawkhill Racquel owned by Mrs. J Hancock took the top spot. In 2006, John & Julie Swann's Ch Swanndale Man in Black took BOB and is the current breed record holder. Their well known Ch Doddsline Lord at Swanndale, bred by Norman Johnston, also had a remarkable record at Crufts. Although the coveted BOB eluded him he took Best Dog in 1997, 2000 and 2001, and collected nine CC's in total.

In 2007 Enid Lord once again took the top spot with Foxthyme Eliza under Jean Lanning, and she followed this up with yet another win in 2008 under Jeff Luscott, having gained her title in between. Tushielaw Clyde's owner Sarah Whybrow judged in 2009 and awarded BOB to Lisa and Nigel Hughes' Ch Hotpot Hell For Leather at Perranfell. 2010 saw Albert Wight awarding BOB to Chris Norman's Ch Normansville Lone Star, with Sarah Whybrow returning after a long break from showing to take the Bitch CC with Ch Traqdean Vidaloca Florence ShCM, fifteen years after Clyde's last win. Florence is the current Bitch CC record holder with twenty CC's to her name.

Jacky Cutler